Frogged Gnarled Oak Cardigan…

Back in January and February, I knit Gnarled Oak Cardigan from Hannah Fettig & Alana Dakos book, Coastal Knits.  Finished the sweater and it looked great…until I tried it on.  It was huge.  I don’t know what happened…well my gauge was off but I thought it would still be close.

So I put it into my sweater drawer and just left it.  I tried it on again on Sunday to make sure that it was too big…and as you can see above it was too big.  I really like this cardigan and have been thinking about frogging the existing one and reclaiming the yarn.  The only reason I hadn’t, was that I’ve never reclaimed yarn before and I was worried about ruining it.  I guess it doesn’t really matter if you ruin yarn reclaiming it since you’re not doing anything with it sitting in a drawer anyway.

So Sunday afternoon, I took the plunge.  I clipped off the buttons and wound the yarn directly from the sweater into center pull balls.  Then Hubbs helped me wind it back into skeins.  Then I soaked the yarn, rolled it in towels and hung it to dry in my laundry room.

I’m using the towels to weight down the skeins so, hopefully, they will unkink.  I’m looking forward to knitting the Gnarled Oak Cardigan again.  It was a simple, enjoyable knit the first time.  And I really loved the sweater, it just didn’t fit.  No fault on the part of the pattern, I just screwed up.

My gauge was 5.25 Stitches per inch and it should have been 6 stitches per inch.  Not sure why I didn’t get gauge/never bothered to get it.  But obviously, I never got it.  This time around, I plan to do a better job payin attention to the details.  In the mean time, I hope to finish one of my WIPs before I start on re-knitting Gnarled Oak Cardigan.

Leave a Reply

