If only I could…

finish something!!!  But no, it just doesn’t seem to be in the cards for me.

Last month, Hubbs and I took a couple of days off and took ourselves off to the coast for a few days (pictures to follow soon!).  I wanted something that would be fairly easy travel knitting.  Something interesting enough to keep me engaged but simple enough that if I put it down mid knit, I could easily pick it up again.  Before Filati’s went out of business I took a couple of trips up there and bought way too much yarn.  But I bought enough of a bulky weight yarn to cast on for Aidez by Cirilia Rose.  I’ve knit this before but it didn’t come out.  The sweater was fine but it was too small to me (I recently gifted this to my older sister).  But I loved this just the same and since I got such an awesome deal on the yarn, I really wanted to cast on again for it.

Picture by Cirilia Rose

I love this chunky cardigan.  No closure on the front but lots of cool cables.  The back is to die for if you like cables.

Picture by Cirilia Rose

See?!  To die for!

My first Aidez was in a blue-green but I chose a very natural color this time around.  I picked up 15 skeins of Cascade Lana Grande in the colorway 6043.  It’s blocking right now and I only used 11 of the 15 skeins.  My gauge was off for what the pattern called for but I did the math so I’m thinking I should be fine on this.  But we’ll see since half the time when I try to figure out the math when I can’t get gauge, my garment doesn’t fit.  Fingers crossed.

This yarn is enormous.  The  ball band says size 17 needle will get you a gauge of 2 stitches per inch.  I used a 10 1/2 US for Aidez so my fabric is very thick and a bit stiff.  But it should be super warm for this winter…or the summer in my office where they like to keep it like a meat locker.  Brrrrrr.  And I hate to be cold.  So as long as it fits, this is going to be a great sweater.

Leave a Reply

