Vacation Pics!

But just a few…I took over 300 in four days but I promise not to post that many here.

Our first day was mostly driving from our home in the Sacramento area to Gualala, California.  It took us about 5 hours with various stops for lunch, gas and sight-seeing.  It was over cast until late afternoon.

We stayed at Gualala Redwood’s River campground in Gualala.  It’s about a mile inland from the beach, right on the river.  The campground was the most lovely and well-kept that we’ve ever stayed at.  It was beautiful and peaceful, not to mention cozy.

The second day we drove up to Point Arena to see the light house there but it was socked in with fog and unless you were standing at the base of it, you couldn’t see it at all.  But just of the same road that the light house is on are some bluffs with amazing view of natural arches.  We spent most of the morning just walking around and enjoying the sea.  Then we headed back to Gualala and had a fantastic lunch of tri-tip sandwiches from the Surf Market.  They cook the tri-tip along with ribs and chicken right there on huge grills in the parking lot.  The food was amazing.

We found these great sheep who look like they’ve just been shorn.  Beautiful but they didn’t seem that impressed when I held up my Aidez that I was working on during the trip.

After the sheep we were on our way back for dinner and I spotted these huge bucks on the side of the road.  I immediately went crazy yelling at Hubbs to turn around.  He didn’t see them since they were up the hill on the side of the road and it was very foggy.  I was lucky to spot them at all.  They stayed for a long time and let me take their picture and even hung out after I got out of the truck and crossed the road to get better pictures of them.  Hubbs of course wished that he could hunt them…I was glad that he couldn’t.

Day 4 was mostly driving home but again we did stop for sight-seeing along the way.  It was a beautiful sunny day and just made me really hate the fact that we were going home.  But the trip over all was great.  We escaped from work for a few days and escaped the heat of the Sacramento Valley.  Just thinking about the trip makes me want to go again.

I love traveling in the off-season, after kids have gotten back to school.  It’s less crowded and everything is so much more accessible.  Not to mention that lots of places are cheaper in the off-season.  I’m already angling for a trip to Tahoe in October.  Fall is so beautiful in the Sierras.

Leave a Reply

