Aryn Cardigan…

Aryn Cardigan 7

After almost a month of trying to find buttons that I like, I bought some.  Every time I went to get buttons they either didn’t have enough of the ones I liked or everything else was just not right for the sweater.  I didn’t want plain buttons, I wanted something that would be interesting but not take away from the pattern of the sweater.

Aryn Cardigan 6

I love toggle buttons.  I don’t really know what is so appealing about them but with the roundness of the pattern of the sweater, the rectangular shape of the buttons is really nice.

Aryn Cardigan 2

 I used Patons Classic Wool Worsted in Grey Mix.  I wasn’t expecting to like this much because it came from Joann’s but I really enjoyed knitting with it and the stitch defination is very nice.

Aryn Cardigan 3

 The constuction of the sweater was very interesing.  Knit up the body, split and add stiches for the arms.  Seam across the top to close the arms.  Seaming isn’t my speciality but I must be getting better at it.  All the purled rows and all the knit rows matched up and my seams were straight without any puckering.

Aryn Cardigan 4

I love the garter stitch cuffs on the sleeves.  Very cute.  Pattern called for them to be turned and tacked down but I wanted my cuffs to be a longer, so I left them alone.

Aryn Cardigan 5

I love the lace pattern.  It was very easy to memorize and was a fast knit.

Aryn Cardigan 1

And the pockets.  I mean how cute are the pockets on this sweater?!  I really like them.  I considered leaving them off becuase the last sweater I knit with pockets…let’s just say that the pockets didn’t come out very good but I’m really glad I tried again.  These came out perfect.  You can’t even see where I attached the bottom of the pocket to the inside of the sweater.

Pattern:  Aryn Cardigan by Melissa Wehrle
Needle:  US 9
Yarn:  Patons Classic Wool Worsted in Mixed Grey (6 skeins)
Size:  36

Mods:

  • 1 extra button hole, pattern calls for 6, I have 7 because I wanted to make sure that it would stay closed
  • I didn’t roll and tack the sleeve cuffs
  • I normally will knit size 38 but I like a more fitted sweater, so I knit one size down

Leave a Reply

