Fall Sweater Repair…

I’ve been doing a lot of reading up on adding grosgrain ribbon to your button bands to reinforce them and give them a more finished appearance.  My Aryn Tunic Cardigan that I knit last year had lost a button months ago and thus I hadn’t been wearing it.  But I bought a pair of leggings last week and since this cardigan is long and covers my rear, I needed to repair it before I could wear it.  I figured that since it needed the repair, now would be a good time to try out adding the ribbon to a cardigan.

I’d been nervous about trying this since I was worried that I might ruin the sweater but what the hay?  Why not try it out?  If it didn’t work, I could always just remove the ribbon and reattach the buttons.  So I cut off the remaining buttons, measured my ribbon, folded and ironed the ends and pinned it in place.

DSC_0119My band is still a little wonky but otherwise it looks the same.

DSC_0120The inside looks much nicer and feels more secure.  I won’t be losing any buttons off this sweater.

DSC_0122For the button hole side I had to fold the ribbon in thirds and iron it before running it through the sewing machine.  I didn’t want to cut the ribbon since grosgrain seems to fray badly when you cut it.  Then I just pinned it in place and stitched it on by hand the same way I did the button side.

I used the Knitmore Girls Grosgrain Tutorial (found here).  It was easy to follow but I wish they also had one that was just pictures with written instructions vs. a video.  I just follow pictures and written instructions better than video.  But otherwise I found it very helpful.

Since this sweater was knit with cheap yarn from a big box store, it also really needed a good shaving.  It had pilled badly and was very fuzzy.  But now it’s back in shape and ready for fall wear.

And just in time too.  Fall has fallen here in Northern California and it’s my favorite time of year.  The weather is cooling off and the sun light has that diffused look to it.  It’s so lovely.  I’m ready for falling leaves, long walks and that crisp bite to the air.  Not to mention Pumpkin Spice Latte’s from Starbucks, yum!

How about you?  What’s your favorite part of fall?

One thought on “Fall Sweater Repair…

Leave a Reply

