Finishing Work, It’s not for Sissys!

I’ve had several projects that just needed finishing work done.  I’ve spent the last few days working on them and have 3 done.  I’ve a couple more to go but I’m making progress.

DSC_0124

DSC_0123

Pattern name & Ravelry link – Truckee Shawlette by Kristen Ashbaugh-Helmreich
Project link –  Rainwater on my Windowpane in Klamath Shawlette
Cast on date – May 11, 2013
Finishing Date – September 29, 2013
Yarn –  MadelineTosh Merino Light in Window Pane & Rain color ways
Needles –  US 6/ 4mm
Notes/Mods –  No mods.  Knit this almost entirely in Klamath on vacation in May but it took forever for me to block it and do the finishing work on it.

DSC_0125

DSC_0126

Pattern name & Ravelry link – Summer Wind by Irishgirlieknits

Project link –  Summer Wind, Winter Breeze
Cast on date – March 2013
Finishing Date – September 29, 2013
Yarn –  Alexandra Crafts Diamond Lake in Pacific Blue
Needles –  US 5/ 3.75mm
Notes/Mods –  No mods.  Lovely, easy knit.

DSC_0130

Pattern name & Ravelry link – Crooked Wheels 
Project link – Crooked Wheels on a Dusty Road 
Cast on date – September 9, 2013
Bind off date – September 25, 2013
Yarn – Skein BFL Sock in Fig
Needles – 2.5mm
Notes – Started Gusset after row 32. Bound off after row 42. This pattern drove me crazy! Nothing wrong with the pattern but the asymmetrical cables made me crazy. I like everything to match! But they turned out great and I’m happy with them.

I now only have 5 WIPs, the fewest I’ve had in a very long time.  Most of them only need a little bit to go and then they’re done and none of them are socks!!  Doesn’t mean I won’t cast on for another pair…but for now I think I’m going to work on finishing up what I have that just needs minor things.  Maybe a finish two more before I cast on for something new policy?

3 thoughts on “Finishing Work, It’s not for Sissys!

  1. Great productivity here. The muted colors of the Truckee Shawl are terrific. Summer Wind looks good for warm weather with a slight chill/breeze. The socks are cool. I like how textured they are. Really makes a statement.

  2. Hi LIsa! I’ve just had a huge catch-up on your blog — you are amazing! I can’t believe all the sweaters and socks you manage to finish- Wow! I love all of your cardigans — Beautiful. And I couldn’t agree with your title more — I get stuck on the finishing work every time!

    • Ahhh, thanks. It’s been an adventure for sure. Finishing work is my arch nemesis. You dont want to know the number of times that I’ve had almost completely finished items go unfinished for months before I finally do the finishing work!

Leave a Reply

